American Horror Story

The American horror story series hit your home televisions on October 5, 2011, starring on FX. Created and produced by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk. That day changed lives. Well at least mine. I enjoy it because it comes on around Halloween and it gives you and I something to get creeped out about every Wednesday night which is why I believe people keep tuning in each week. To me this is pop culture because it uses the 2- step theory, also a quote from the article Popular culture From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia said in definition number three that “this is seen as a commercial culture, mass produced for mass consumption by mass media” you see it being advertised on basically every channel about a month before it comes on. You see celebrities tweeting about it and hear your classmates talking about it. This is a show you get addicted to every Wednesday/every year, and it’s obviously good enough to keep getting picked up for a new season. What’s really cool about AHS is that every year it’s a different but has the same cast which is really cool because you can always get into it without using the same old line “ I don’t wanna watch it because I didn’t see the last season.” So scratch that off your list of excuses.

The first season was about a haunted house titled “Murder House.” It’s about a family who moved in to a haunted house that takes place in the year 2011 in Los Angeles, California. Some of the cast includes Connie Britton, Evan Peters, Jessica Lange, and plenty more.  On Rotten Tomatoes Murder House got a 64% on the tomatometer and the audience gave it an 80%. The critics said it is “Convoluted yet effective, American Horror Story is strange, gory, and twisted enough to keep viewers hooked.” Every year I get a little bit depressed knowing I have to wait another year to see the next season but then get super exited when I find out what the next season is about, it’s a love hate kind of feeling.

So after waiting a year, in 2012-2013 the on October 17th. This season freaked me out a little I am not into demon stuff, but was weirdly my second favorite season I really liked all the twists they included. Asylum was taken place in the year 1964 in Massachusetts in an asylum obviously, and in this asylum they kept the criminally insane. The show also jumps to the present day so be sure to pay attention. The cast added Sarah Paulson, Lilly Rabe, and Zachary Quinto This season got more ratings then last on the tomatometer it got 77% and the audience gave it an 89%. The critics said that this season “American Horror Story: Asylum crosses boundaries to shock and scare with sexy subplots and some innovative takes on current social issues.”

Moving on to the third season drum roll please! My favorite season yet, “The Coven.” The Coven premiered on October 9, 2013, this season takes place in the year of 2013 in New Orleans, Louisiana. I thought it was pretty cool that it takes place in the present day. Anyway the coven is about witches that go to this secret witch school and during the whole show you are trying to figure out who the “supreme” (most powerful) witch is. This season is pretty sexual so I wouldn’t feel comfortable watching it with my mother. They added Kathy Bates, Emma Roberts, and more to this season. Each season the ratings get better on rotten tomatoes, The Coven got an 81% on the tomatometer but unfortunately went down with the audience rating by getting a 79%. Which blows my mind because it was my favorite one but I have heard people say that they disliked this one. Critics said it was “A noteworthy ensemble cast combined with creepy storytelling and campy, outrageous thrills make American Horror Story: Coven a potently structured fright-fest.” I would definitely agree with the fright-fest the first episode creeped me out so bad I didn’t know if I could even watch the second episode but that’s kind of what kept me watching.

 Moving on the current season “Freak Show” that premiered October 8th ,2014, this one is about one of the last remaining freak shows in America taking place in Jupiter, Florida in the year 1952. This one is not one of my favorites yet, but only aired two episodes so far. They added some new cast members like Michael Chiklis, and a few others as the “freaks.” The ratings have yet again gone up on the tomatometer giving this season an 84% and the audience bringing in an 86%. This is what the critics had to say this season, “Though it may turn off new viewers unaccustomed to its unabashed weirdness, Freak Show still brings the thrills, thanks to its reliably stylish presentation and game cast.”

So this is just a background of all four seasons of American Horror Story, and word on the street says they have been picked up for season 5!  If I were you I would start getting into the show you have nothing to lose. So start turning in every Wednesday night at 10pm on FX and get into what everyone has been buzzing about for the last four years.

Leave a Reply

